Books about poets and their works can be found in the literature section -- look for call numbers that begin with PN through PS. Use the library catalog to find books the library owns.
To find works by a poet -- try an Author search (poet's last name first).
To find books about a poet and criticism of his or her work -- try a Subject search (poet's last name first).
To find poems on a certain theme -- try a Subject or Keyword Anywhere search. For example, search the subject: Animals - Poetry.
A wealth of rich and specialized material not found on the Internet about poets, their lives, and works can be found in the reference section in the PN-PS areas. Take a look at:
Critical Survey of Poetry (PN 502) -- The index volume includes an essay "Approaches to Explicating."
Encyclopedia of American Poetry (19th century PS 316 E53; 20th century PS 323.5 E53) -- includes biographical and critical information about little-known poets, including African American, Native American, and women poets. The 20th century volume is also available in our online "Credo Reference" collection.
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory (PN 41 C83) -- Locate definitions and background information on genres, authors, events, theory, and literary works.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (PS 21 D52) -- A comprehensive reference work with over 200 volumes on authors, literary criticism, and more.
Latino and Latina Writers (PS 153 H56 L39) -- A scholarly source for history and biographies of Chicano/a, Cuban, Dominican, and Puerto Rican authors.
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (PN 771 E5)
Modern Women Writers (PN 471 M62)
World Poets (PN 1021)
Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies (PN 1022 H39)
African American Writers (PS 153 N5 A344)
The Gale Literary Index
Use the online free index at www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex to find articles in these Gale reference works that the library owns:
- Poetry for Students (Santa Maria has volumes 1-43)**
- Poetry Criticism (Lompoc Valley Center Library owns volumes 1-77)**
- Contemporary Authors
- Contemporary Authors, New Revision
- Contemporary Literature Criticism
- Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
** Santa Maria students: see your AHC librarian to find out how to obtain copies of articles delivered to the Santa Maria library.
Cite your sources
◊ Gather bibliographic information along the way.
- Date of Publication or Update
- Publisher and Place of Publication
- Page Numbers
- zotero.org - free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.