This is the "Health Resources @the Library" page of the "Health and Wellness --" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Wellness --   Tags: health  

Stress management ... Fitness ... Diet ... First Aid ... Disease prevention. Become a healthier you by using these library resources.
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.hancockcollege.edu/healthwellness Print Guide RSS Updates

Health Resources @the Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find books or media

Use the Library Catalog to find books and media (in the "Stacks", the "Controversial Issues" area, reference area and online). Some subjects to check are:

  • Exercise
  • Geriatrics
  • Health
  • Mental Health
  • Nutrition
  • Obesity
  • Physical Fitness
  • Sports
  • and many more (try a specific disease or condition)

Browse the "Stacks" and reference areas for ideas. Look in:

  • BF = Psychology
  • GT  = Food & Culture
  • GV = Recreation. Leisure
  • HQ = Family. Marriage. Women
  • R = Medicine ; RC = Mental health
  • TX 340-370 = Food
 

E-Books

 

Find magazine, journal and newspaper articles

Health Source:

Consumer Edition

and

 

are great sources for magazine, journal and newspaper articles on everything from nutrition and fitness to addictions and disease prevention.

Check out the list of all the article databases the library subscribes to by clicking here.

In addition, the library subscribes to print magazines such as Health, Runner's World, and Yoga Journal.

 

Reference Books - Gale Virtual Reference Library

These reference books are available online through the Gale VRC 

 

 

  

 

  

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs

Death and Dying: End-of-Life Controversies

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer

The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition

The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health

The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health: A Guide for Seniors and Their Caregivers

The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests

Growing Up: Issues Affecting America's Youth

Health and Wellness: Illness among Americans

The Health Care System

Human Diseases and Conditions

Infectious Diseases: In Context

Psychologists and Their Theories for Students

Weight in America: Obesity, Eating Disorders, and Other Health Risks

     

    Reference Books - Credo Reference

    Use Credo Reference to search over 500 reference books on a wide variety of topics:

    Dictionaries
    Food
    Geography
    History
    Medicine
    Psychology
    Religion
    Science
    Social Science
    Technology
     

    Your Health

     

        Off-campus Access

    You can use library databases from your home.  Click on the database links in this guide or from the library webpage and all you need is your MyHancock login & password to get started.

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip