This is the "Home" page of the "Global Art Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Global Art Research Guide  

A guide to aid students researching art, history, and ancient cultures.
Last Updated: May 26, 2016 URL: http://libguides.hancockcollege.edu/globalart Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles Online from your AHC Library

 Full-text and fact-checked articles available here!

1. Reference articles from Credo!

2. More Reference article from Gale Virtual Reference Library!

Gale Virtual Reference Center

3. Journal articles from Academic Search Premier.

AcademicSearchPremier

1.Try terms that are descriptive about your topic like rock art australia or polynesia ancient art.

2. Check the Full-text box under Limit Your Results.

 

  • Americas
  • Antiquity
  • Art Bulletin
  • Art Education
  • Art Forum
  • Art History
  • Art Journal
  • Art Monthly
  • Ceramics, Art and Perception
  • Discover
  • World Archaeology

For art images and descriptions try the:

Use terms like art ancient china or art ancient egypt

 

Find a Book

Use the library’s online catalog to find books, videocassettes, and DVDs.  Depending on your topic, keywords you might use include Greek art, Hindu art, ancient art, tribal art, or Japanese culture. Important note: write down the call number and location of any book you find that sounds useful.

 Perhaps browse these call number areas in the library books:

  • E 98 or N6501
  • F 1435 or N6553
  • N 8193
  • N 7380 
  • N 7340 
  • NB 94 
  • N 7350
  • N 6502 

 

  • Native American art
  • Mayan art
  • Buddhist art 
  • African art 
  • Art of China
  • Greek sculpture
  • Japanese art
  • Latin America

 

 EBooks or electronic books full-text. Search for a book in the library's collection online.

 

Reference Books

The following books are located in the REFERENCE section of the library. Try searching names of artistic movements, tribes, signficant time periods, specific techniques, important architectural achievements......

 

  • **The Dictionary of Art -- N31 D5 1996 (LVC; SM)
  • Encyclopedia of world art -- N31 E5.33 (LVC; SM)
  •  The Thames and Hudson dictionary of art terms -- N33 L9 1984 (LVC) 
  • The Oxford dictionary of art  -- N33 O93 1997 (LVC)
  • World Book Encyclopedia --AE5 W55 (LVC)
  • Encyclopedia Americana -- AE5 E333 (LVC)

**Excellent academic source

 

Cultural History

Find more cultural details that influence art in specific tribes or geographical areas.

Countries and Their Cultures GN307 C68 2001 Ref. (LVC;SM)

Encyclopedia of World Cultures GN 550 E53 1991 Ref.(LVC;SM)

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life GN333 W67 1997 Ref.(LVC;SM)

Four-cornered hat with birds, ca. 500 - 800
Camelid fiber, cotton
Peru, Wari
4 1/2 in. (11.43 cm) L.: 5 in.

From the permanent collection of the Seattle Art Museum, http://www.seattleartmuseum.org

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip