This is the "Home" page of the "Career Information @ Your Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Information @ Your Library  

Choosing a career or just wanting to learn more about your career and educational options? Check out these resources @ your AHC library!
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.hancockcollege.edu/careers Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Books

In the library's reference section, check out:

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance

(Ref HF 5381 E52)

A great place to start! A one-stop overview of almost any career.  Updated yearly so you'll find current information on everything from the educational requirements to the career's "outlook" (will there be jobs in the future in this career?) to earnings

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition, 5-Volume Set - Ferguson Publishing
Call Number: REF HF 5381 E52 2015
ISBN: 9780816085033
Publication Date: 2014

 

Other Books and DVDs

Use the library's library catalog to find books, eBooks and DVDs on careers.  To find books on a specific career, search by the name of the career followed by "vocational guidance"  (for example,  search for POLICE -- VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE). 

We also have several sets of career information including:

  • Career Opportunities in ...[a series of books on career areas...Check the online catalog by title]
  • Career Clusters Series   [a series of DVDs focusing on people working in the field -- HF 5382.5 U5 in the "Stacks" ]
  • Career Options for Women: Emerging Opportunties [a series of DVDs focusing on women in nontraditional careers]
 

On Your Way!

 

Online Library Tools

Check out these career tools on the library's webpage:

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center:

Thinking about starting in a career? Explore this site. Find everything from detailed information on careers to how to find internships.  Learn how to prepare a resume or get ready for an interview.  Learn about that critical first impression, teamwork skills and so much more.

Vocational Biographies:

Real-life stories help you see what it would be like if you choose the career.  Includes careers from actor to zoo director with hundreds in between!

 

Good news!

You can use library databases from your home.  Click on the database title and all you need is your myHancock login & password to get started.

 

Career Websites

Occupational Outlook Handbook : For hundreds of jobs you'll find what education and training are required, what you can earn, how many jobs are available, and much more.  Published by the U.S. Department of Labor and updated annually. [http://www.bls.gov/OCO/]

Standard Occupational Classification: The SOC system is used by Federal statistical agencies to classify workers into occupational categories for the purpose of collecting, calculating, or disseminating data. [http://stats.bls.gov/soc/]

America's Career OneStop:  Occupation and industry information and much more.  [http://www.careeronestop.org/toolkit/toolkit.aspx]

O*Net Online: A tool for career exploration.  [http://online.onetcenter.org/]

Monster Career Advice A variety of tools for job seekers from cover letters to common interview questions. [http://career-advice.monster.com/]

 

Finding a College -- Continuing Your Education

Peterson's - Your Comprehensive Guide to College Information: Help you plan your education including choosing a college that's "the right fit."  [http://www.petersons.com]

Edutrek: Helps you plan your education including choosing a college that's "the right fit."  [http://www.collegedirectorynetwork.com]

Best Colleges: Detailed college and university profiles.  Search by rank, location, majors and much more. [http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges]

 

Your life. Your career.

 

Other AHC Career Resources

The college's Career/Job Placement  Center and the University Transfer Center offer great services for both discovering and preparing for a career.

 The Career/Job Placement Center offers access to "Career Cruising"-- a self-exploration and planning program that helps people of all ages achieve their potential in school, career and life. 

The University Transfer Center provides a wide variety of services to help you transfer to the right school for you.

 

Library Research Help

Check out the

Research Process LibGuide

This guide will take you step-by-step through the research process.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip